'Rango' Takes the Big Prize at the 2012 Annie Animation Awards

Monday, 06 February 2012 11:10 Written by  Jordan DeSaulnier
Rate this item
(0 votes)
'Rango' Takes the Big Prize at the 2012 Annie Animation Awards

Awards season rolls on, and it's looking more and more like Rango is going to take the cake in the animated feature category at the big show, the Oscar ceremony on February 26th.  The first animated feature for both director Gore Verbinski and legendary visual effects house Industrial Light & Magic just fairly well swept the feature categories at the 2012 Annie Awards, celebrating the very best of animation across different media.

The western-comedy won the Best Animated Feature Award, as well as the prizes for writing, editing, and character design.  The Adventures of Tintin and Kung-Fu Panda 2 also took home awards, as did the character animation by Weta Digital in the live-action prequel/reboot Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

This is the first year after an organizational overhaul at the Annies meant to correct years of controversy over the International Animated Film Society's selection of winners.  In 2010, Disney formally withdrew from the organization because of a voting bias that generally resulted in films from DreamWorks sweeping every year.  With the new rules, though, Disney is back in the game, but its first year back it couldn't quite put its best foot forward, since Cars 2 is the first Pixar release to miss out on critical adulation.

The raucous awards ceremony was hosted by comedian and "Classic American Gasbag" Patton Oswalt.  We can't partake in the festivities of the actual ceremony, but we can offer up the full list of winners, thanks to The Wrap.

Best Animated Feature: "Rango"

Best Animated Short Subject: "Adam and Dog," Minkyu Lee

Best General Audience Animated TV Production: "The Simpsons"

Best Animated Television Production for Children: "The Amazing World of Gumball"

Best Animated Television Production for Pre-school Children: "Disney Jake and the Never Land Pirates"

Best Animated Special Production: "Kung Fu Panda - Secrets of the Masters"

Best Animated Television Commercial: Twinings "Sea," Psyop

Best Animated Video Game: "Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet"

Member's Favorite Award: "Rango"


Directing in a Feature Production: Jennifer Yuh Nelson, "Kung Fu Panda 2"

Writing in a Feature Production: John Logan, Gore Verbinski and James Byrkit, "Rango"

Character Design in a Feature Production: Mark "Crash" McCreery, "Rango"

Editing in a Feature Production: Craig Wood, "Rango"

Storyboarding in a Feature Production: Jeremy Spears, "Winnie the Pooh"

Music in a Feature Production: John Williams, "The Adventures of Tintin"

Animated Effects in an Animated Production: Kevin Romond, "The Adventures of Tintin"

Animated Effects in a Live-Action Production: Florent Andorra, "Transformers: Dark of the Moon"

Character Animation in a Live Action Production: Eric Reynolds, "Rise of the Planet of the Apes"

Character Animation in a Feature Production: Jeff Gabor, "Rio"

Production Design in a Feature Production: Raymond Zibach, "Kung Fu Panda 2"

Voice Acting in a Feature Production: Bill Nighy, "Arthur Christmas"

Directing in a Television Production: Matthew Natsuk, "The Simpsons"

Writing in a Television Production: Carolyn Omine, "The Simpsons: Treehouse of Horror XXII"

Character Design in a Television Production: Bill Schwab, "Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice"

Editing in a Television Production: Ted Machold, Jeff Adams, Doug Tiano and Bob Tomlinson, "The Penguins of Madagascar"

Storyboarding in a Television Production: Brian Kesinger, "Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice"

Music in a Television Production: Grace Potter and Michael Giacchino, "Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice"

Character Animation in a Television Production: Tony Smeed, "Prep & Landing: Naughty vs. Nice"

Production Design in a Television Production: Mark Bodnar, Chris Tsirgiotis, Sue Mondt and Daniel Elson, "Secret Mountain Fort Awesome"

Voice Acting in a Television Production: Jeff Bennett, "The Penguins of Madagascar"

June Foray Award: Art Leonardi

Windsor McCay Award: Ronald Searle

Windsor McCay Award: Walt Peregoy

Windsor McCay Award: Borge Ring

Special Achievment Annie Award: Depth Analysis

More in this category

Follow ROGUE

Latest Trailers

view more »

Featured Links

Around the Web