EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards Red Carpet Coverage

Sunday, 22 February 2015 13:33
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 21st in Santa Monica. Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, handed out awards to such films as Birdman, Boyhood, Whiplash, Nightcrawler, and Dear White People, as well as actors Michael Keaton (Birdman), Julianne Moore (Still Alice), J.K. Simmons (Whiplash), Patricia Arquette (Boyhood), and director Richard Linklater (Boyhood). The event aired on IFC and was hosted by Fred Arminsen (IFC's Portlandia) and Kristen Bell (Hit and Run), with official house band Silversun Pickups.

IAR's Managing Editor Jami Philbrick attended the 30th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards and was on the red carpet (it was actually purple) to talk with many of the actors and filmmakers as they entered the ceremony. Philbrick had a chance to speak with the show's co-host Fred Arminsen, veteran actor Jeremy Sisto (Thirteen), nominated screenwriters Scott Alexander and Larry Karaszewski (Big Eyes), winning writer/director Justin Simien (Dear White People), house band Silversun Pickups and their special guest Jenny Slate (Obvious Child). 

To watch our exclusive coverage from the 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards red carpet, please click on the video player above.

In attendance at this year's Film Independent Spirit Awards were:

Cate Blanchett, Jessica Chastain, Ellar Coltrane, Mark Duplass, Carmen Ejogo, Zach Galifianakis, Ethan Hawke, Gillian Jacobs, Scarlett Johansson, Jared Leto, Diego Luna, Ewan McGregor, Alfred Molina, Julianne Moore, Olivia Munn, David Oyelowo, Alexander Payne, Michael Pena, Aubrey Plaza, Craig Robinson, Emmy Rossum, Andy Samberg, Dax Shepard, J.K. Simmons, Jenny Slate, Emma Stone, Miles Teller, Marisa Tomei, Kerry Washington, Kristen Wiig, Oprah WinfreyRiz Ahmed, Paul Thomas Anderson, Fred Armisen, Patricia Arquette, Kristen Bell, Andre Benjamin, Jason Blum, Effie T. Brown, Damien Chazelle, Marion Cotillard, Ava DuVernay, Carmen Ejogo, Dan Gilroy, Alejandro G. Iñarritu, Michael Keaton, Rinko Kikuchi, Richard Linklater, Jena Malone, Andrea Suarez Paz, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Justin Simien, Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Josh Welsh, Adam Wingard and David Zellner.

The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 21st in Santa Monica, and aired that night on IFC. 

To watch our video coverage from the winner's tent backstage at The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards, please click here

To read our coverage of The 2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards winners, please click here

Follow ROGUE