EXCLUSIVE VIDEO: 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards Red Carpet Coverage

Sunday, 24 February 2013 21:21
Rate this item
(2 votes)

The 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 25th in Santa Monica. Film Independent, the non-profit arts organization that produces the Spirit Awards and the Los Angeles Film Festival, handed out awards to such films as Silver Linings Playbook, The Sessions, Safety Not Guaranteed, Middle of Nowhere, Beasts of the Southern Wild, and The Invisible War, as well as actors John Hawkes (The Sessions), Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook), Matthew McConaughey (Magic Mike), Helen Hunt (The Sessions), and directors David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook), and Michael Haneke (Amour). The event aired on IFC and was hosted by Andy Samberg (Celeste and Jesse Forever).

IAR's Managing Editor Jami Philbrick attended the 28th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards and was on the red carpet (it was actually purple) to talk with many of the actors and filmmakers as they entered the ceremony. Philbrick had a chance to speak with nominated actors Bruce Willis (Moonrise Kingdom), Wendall Pierce (Four), David Oyelowo (Middle of Nowhere), and Quvenzhane Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild), as well as actor Chris Tucker (Silver Linings Playbook), actor/writer Will McCormack (Celeste and Jessie Forever), John Cassavetes Award nominated producer Chad Burris (Mosquita y Mari), film critic Leonard Maltin, and winning producers Bruce Cohen and Jonathan Gordon (Silver Linings Playbook), winning writer Colin Trevorrow and director Derek Connolly (Safety Not Guaranteed), and winning documentary director Kirby Dick (The Invisible War).

To watch our exclusive coverage from the 2013 Independent Spirit Awards, please click on the video player above.

In attendance at this year's Independent Spirit Awards were:

Amy Poehler (TV's Parks and Recreation), Aubrey Plaza (Safety Not Guaranteed), Bryan Cranston (Argo), Channing Tatum (Magic Mike), Chris Tucker (Silver Linings Playbook), Common (Smokin' Aces), Dave Grohl (The Muppets), Dermot Mulroney (The Grey), Dennis Quaid (TV's Vegas), Ellen Page (Juno), Emily Mortimer (Cars 2), Fred Armisen (TV's Portlandia), Jason Bateman (Identity Thief), Jeremy Renner (The Avengers), Jason Schwartzman (Moonrise Kingdom), Kerry Washington (Django Unchained), Kyle MacLachlan (TV's Twin Peaks), Laura Dern (Jurassic Park), Matthew McConaughey (Killer Joe), Salma Hayek (Savages), Sofia Coppola (Lost in Translation), Zoe Saldana (The Words), Benh Zeitlin (Beasts of the Southern Wild), Bradley Cooper (Silver Linings Playbook), Brit Marling (Sound of My Voice), Brittany Snow (Pitch Perfect), Bruce Willis (Moonrise Kingdom), Clea Duvall (Argo), Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter series), David O. Russell (Silver Linings Playbook), David Oyelowo (Middle of Nowhere), Harvey Weinstein (Django Unchained), Helen Hunt (The Sessions), Jack Black (Bernie), Jennifer Lawrence (Silver Linings Playbook), John Hawkes (The Sessions), John Waters (Hairspray), Leslie Mann (This is 40), Mark Duplass (Your Sister's Sister), Mary Elizabeth Winstead (Smashed), Michael Haneke (Amour), Michael Peña (End of Watch), Paul Rudd (This is 40), Quvenzhané Wallis (Beasts of the Southern Wild), Rashida Jones (Celeste and Jesse Forever), Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom), Ron Livingston (Office Space), Rosemarie DeWitt (Promised Land), Sam Rockwell (Seven Psychopaths), Wendell Pierce (Four), Will McCormack (Celeste and Jesse Forever), and Zal Batmanglij (Sound of My Voice)

The 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards took place on Saturday, February 23rd in Santa Monica, and aired that night on IFC. 

Follow ROGUE